Tour de France 2021: What do the jerseys mean?


Get ready for three weeks of little sleep, chopper photos of the French countryside, and history lessons on the castles you certainly can’t afford.

It’s true, it’s time for the Tour de France.

After being postponed to August due to COVID last year, the Tour is back in its traditional July schedule.

Here has Sports news we have what you need for everything round.


There are therefore 22 teams made up of eight riders for a total of 176 competitors.

Each team wears a jersey, usually covered in their sponsor colors, but some riders will wear something a little different.

Here are all the jerseys and their meaning:


Getty Images

The yellow jersey, or yellow jersey, is carried by the rider at the head of the general classification (GC).

That is, the competitor with the lowest cumulative time before the start of this stage.

The man wearing the yellow jersey at the end of the last stage is considered the winner of the Tour de France.

Only one Australian finished the Tour in yellow and won the GC, Cadel Evans in 2011.

Fellow Australians Phil Anderson, Stuart O’Grady, Bradley McGee, Robbie McEwan, Simon Gerrans and Rohan Dennis all wore yellow but never won a Tour.

The Belgian Eddy Merckx holds the record for 96 stages in yellow, he is also one of the four men to have won the GC five times, joined by Jacques Anquetil, Bernard Hinault and Miguel Indurain.

Lance Armstrong has won the overall standings seven times, but was stripped of it in 2012. Performance enhancing drugs and all that, let’s not talk about it.

The 2020 winner, Tadej Pogačar, became the first Slovenian to win the Tour de France. Together with their compatriot Primoz Roglic, they enter this year’s edition as favorites for the yellow jersey.


Getty Images

The polka dot jersey, or red polka dot jersey, is awarded to the rider at the head of the King of the Mountains category.

Riders are awarded points for the order in which they complete the top of climbs, with more points available on higher category climbs.

The most difficult climbs are labeled except category or not categorized, the first rider having exceeded 20 points.

If a rider is in the lead in both the general and mountain categories, the polka dot jersey will be worn by the rider in second position.

Ten runners finished the race winning both the GC and the King of the Mountains, the most recent being Froome in 2015.

Frenchman Richard Virenque holds the record with seven polka-dot shirts.

No Australian has ever dominated the category.

Pogacar was also crowned King of the Mountains in 2020.


Getty Images

The green jersey, or green jersey, is carried by the rider at the head of the points classification.

The points are awarded to the riders in the order in which they cross the line during the finishings of stages and intermediate sprints, hence the points classification generally won by “sprinters”.

“Flat” stage wins have a higher point value than mountain stages.

The 1st to 15th ranks earn points, 50 points being awarded to the winner of a flat stage, while a “high mountain” stage will be worth 20 points.

On several occasions, the winner of the GC has also dominated the points classification, in this case the rider who came second in the classification of the green jersey wears it.

In 1969, Merckx finished the race at the top of the general, mountain and points classifications, the only man to have done so.

Australia have a fairly rich history in the green jersey, topping the points standings five times, the fifth most of any nation.

Robbie McEwan won three (2002, 2004, 2006), Baden Cooke (2003) and Michael Matthews, winner of 2017, also arriving in Paris in green.

Irishman Sam Bennett presented superstar Peter Sagan with a sixth green jersey when he won the points classification in 2020.


The white jersey, or white jersey, is awarded to the best young rider.

Runners under the age of 26 on January 1 of the year following the race may wear the white jersey.

It is awarded to the best placed runner in the general classification which corresponds to the age criteria.

Laurent Fignon (1983), Jan Ullrich (1997), Alberto Contador (2007) and Andy Schleck (2010) won the general classification and the best young rider category in the same year.

Anderson (1982) is the only Australian to have won the white jersey.

At just 22 years old and eligible for the category, Pogacar is the holder of the reigning white jersey.



The rider judged to be the most aggressive during the previous day’s stage wears a white number on a red background, instead of the standard white number on a black background.

At the end of the race, the rider judged to be the most aggressive throughout the Tour wins the Prize for Combativeness, or The Prize for Combativeness .

Switzerland’s Marc Hirschi won the honor in 2020, while Merckx holds the record with four.


The leading team in this category wears black numbers on a yellow background, instead of the standard white on black.

It is calculated by cumulating the times of the three best placed riders in the general team classification.

Movistar won the honor in 2020.



The rainbow jersey is worn by the reigning world champions in road racing and individual time trials.

These runners wear a white jersey surrounded by green, yellow, black, red and blue stripes.

Former world champions will often wear jerseys with a rainbow trim on the sleeves and neck.

Julian Alaphilippe will wear the rainbow jersey in 2021 after winning the title in Italy last year.


Riders from nations recognized by the UCI who win their national championships are authorized to wear a jersey in the colors of their country for the next year of competition.

Former national champions will often wear jerseys with different colored trims on the sleeves and neck.

Simon Gerrans wearing green and gold as Australian National Champion of the 2014 Tour de France.

Source link


Leave A Reply